How SAT Subject Tests are Scored

SAT Subject Tests are scored in two steps:

  • The raw score is established
  • The raw score is converted to the College Board 200- to 800-point scaled score

Establishing the raw score

All questions on Subject Tests are multiple choice. To establish the raw score:

  • One point is added for each correct answer.
  • A fraction of a point is subtracted for wrong answers:
    • 1/4 point is subtracted for five-choice questions.
    • 1/3 point is subtracted for four-choice questions.
    • 1/2 point is subtracted for three-choice questions.
  • No points are deducted for unanswered questions.
  • The total points answered incorrectly are subtracted from the number answered correctly.
  • If the resulting score is a fraction, it is rounded to the nearest whole numberó1/2 or more is rounded up; less than 1/2 is rounded down.

Converting the raw score to the scaled score

The raw score is converted to the College Board 200- to 800-point scaled score by a statistical process called equating.

Equating adjusts for slight differences in difficulty between test editions and ensures that:

  • A student's score does not depend on the specific test edition she took.
  • A student's score does not depend on how well others did on the same edition of the test.

The scaled score is reported to colleges. Total test scores for all Subject Tests are reported on the College Board 200- to 800-point scale.

When do I get the result

You can view your score report online between 15 to 20 days after you took the test. Your official score report will be provided to you and your high school, if you included the code, about five weeks after the test. Students who register online and wish to receive a paper score report by mail in addition to the online score report must request it when they register. Students who register by mail and who do not have active College Board online accounts will continue to receive paper score reports.

How long after the test can I use my scores?

SAT scores are valid for five years after the testing year in which you tested.